Rockbot Request updates the jukebox experience by allowing users to request and vote on songs from the Rockbot app.
By making the experience social, businesses can build a sense of community among customers. People can share their favorites, while maintaining brand safety. From bars to airport terminals, gyms, hotels, casinos and more! Request brings people together and can create a powerful shared experience for your customers.
By default, all songs in your currently active Playlists are available to Request, but you can expand the library at your convenience.
Setting up your Request Library
The Request Library has three basic modes. In all three modes your businesses content restrictions will remain in effect.
- Locked Library - The default setting. Only songs in your active Playlists or songs and artists that you whitelisted are available.
- Smart Library - Expands what is available by whitelisting all the artists in the active Playlists.
- Custom Library - Further expands the library by including the ability to whitelist entire genres and sub-genres of music.
Expanding your library through Whitelisting
You can expand your library in any of these three states by whitelisting songs or artists to make them available.
In Custom Library mode you have the option to whitelist entire genres or sub-genres, and schedule when they are available.
How the Request Queue works
When one of your customers logs into the Rockbot DJ App and requests a song, it is placed into a public queue. Other customers and/or staff who are using the app may use our thumbs up/down system to up or downvote.
When customers upvote a picked song, it will play sooner. If more people downvote than upvote, it will take longer to play. After a certain threshold of downvotes is reached, the song is removed from the queue .
The removal threshold is calculated based on the number of customers logged into your site. To prevent trolling, downvoting is throttled so users can’t repeatedly downvote other people’s songs.
A user can only have 5 songs in the queue at the time, once one plays they can add another. When a user leaves your site or logs out of the app, any outstanding picks and votes are removed from the queue. This prevents customers from switching between multiple accounts to upvote their own picks.